Resuming broadcast on Mondays starting March 1, 2021

Inspiration + Provocations from Artists of Color

Our 2020-21 Season continues with brand new online content every Monday night! 

SPOTLIGHT: Creatives at Work offers inspiration plus provocations from performing artists and media makers of color, all agents of positive social change. Episodes will broadcast for FREE on Facebook Live, VimeoYouTubeand on BronxNet Community Television cable and web channels.

“Following on the success of our Remojo 2020 digital series, SPOTLIGHT gets creatives of color talking about their craft, the impact of pandemic on their day to day, and their uncompromising visions for a better future,” says Rosalba Rolón, Artistic Director.

“These are all artists who time and again prove to be worth their salt, who are selfless in their loves and passions, and who have plenty to teach us about endurance, community, and joy,” she continues.

“At Pregones/PRTT we’re blessed to be surrounded with artists who make a difference, and we’re eager to shine a bright light on their accomplishments and what keeps them driven,” adds Jorge B. Merced, Associate Artistic Director.

“Especially now that our connections have gone virtual, we craved a real sit down and face to face meeting! We’re not back to hugging yet, but we have set it up so that the artists can get back in the theater, remove the mask, and reclaim the stage.”

Filmed primarily at Pregones Theater in The Bronx, SPOTLIGHT features theater, music, dance, and film/media artists. Each episode is a snappy 30-minute compendium of conversation and performance.


For prior fall 2020 episodes: Click Here

March 1 – Desmar Guevara (Music, Theater)

March 8 – Carlos Cuevas, Waldo Chávez (Music)

March 15 – Álvaro Benavides, Nicky Laboy (Music)

March 22 – Alvan Colón Lespier (Theater, Multidisciplinary Arts Presenting)

March 29 – Jessica Moya, Milton Ruiz (Technical Production, Sound Design)

April 5 – Encore: Víctor Pablo Gaetán, Gabo Lugo (Musicians)

April 12 – Encore: Melisa Ramos, Edwin Pagán (Film/Media)

April 19 – Encore: Desmar Guevara (Composer, Pianist, Musical Director)

April 26 – Encore: Alethea Pace, Richard Rivera (Choreographers)

May 17 – Lucrecia Briceño, Harry Nadal (Designers)

May 24 – Special Episode: Miriam Colón (Stage & Film Giant)

May 31 – Encore of Special Episode: Miriam Colón (Stage & Film Giant)

June 7 – David Crommett, Sandra Rodríguez, Rosalba Rolón (Pregones First Generation)

June 14 – Special Episode: Danny Rivera (International Music Star)

June 21 – Papoleto Meléndez (Poets on Stage)

June 28 – David Maldonado, David Rodríguez (Creators of I Like It Like That)

Where To Watch:

Series streams on Mondays at 7:30 PM Eastern Time

—Facebook Live:


—Cable: 69 Optimum
—Cable: 2135 FIOS

Photos courtesy of the artists. Graphic design by Jeison Rivera for Pregones/PRTT.
Special thanks to our media broadcast partners at BronxNet Community Television.

Our Esteemed Funders – Click To Open

This program is made possible, in part, by the J. L. Greene Arts Access Fund in The New York Community Trust, and by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council, and the New York State Council on the Arts, with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Southwest Airlines is the official airline of Pregones/PRTT. For a full list of our funders, visit

Logos of funding agencies.

Event Details

  • Location

    Online and Cable TV:
    Facebook Live
    BronxNet Ch4
    69 Optimum
    2135 FIOS

  • Date & Time

    Mondays @ 7:30pm Eastern
    Starting MARCH 1, 2021

  • Featuring

    A Media Series by

    Series Producer
    Jorge B Merced

    Production Manager
    Jessica Moya

    Film Editor
    Tané Martínez

    Production Assistant
    José Torres


    Alethea Pace
    Alvan Colón Lespier
    Álvaro Benavides
    Caridad de La Luz
    Carlos Cuevas
    Cedric Leiba Jr.
    Chad Carstarphen
    Chris Cancel Pomales
    Danny Rivera
    David Crommett
    Desmar Guevara
    Edwin Pagán
    Elise Hernández
    Gabo Lugo
    Harry Nadal
    Janilka Romero
    Javier Gómez
    Jessica Moya
    Joe Conzo
    José Joaquín García
    Juan Carlos García Padilla
    Julia Gutiérrez
    Lucrecia Briceño
    Luis Rafael Sánchez
    Magdalena Gómez
    Marisol Díaz-Gordon
    Milteri Tucker Concepción
    Milton Ruiz
    Nicky Laboy
    Papoleto Meléndez
    Richard Rivera
    Rosalba Rolón
    Rossmery Almonte
    Sandra María Estevez
    Sandra Rodríguez
    Víctor Pablo Gaetán
    Waldo Chávez

    Special Episode:
    Miriam Colón