Sunday March 12, 2017 @ 3PM | FREE!

A FREE Bronx Piano Sundays Concert!

ABOUT Nelson Ojeda

Nelson Ojeda Valdés (pianist) has been a soloist with the Southeast Symphony playing Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto in C Minor, the Pacific Symphony Orchestra playing Saint-Saens “Carnival of the Animals” and California State University Fullerton Wind Ensemble playing Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” on a tour of Japan.

This special FREE concert will feature the music of Enrique Granados and Alberto Ginastera. Mr. Ojeda will be joined onstage by cellist Marisol Espada and soprano Jaquelin Goldgorin.


Concert Program:

Enrique Granados (1867-1916):
Selections from Spanish Dances from Opus 37

  • No. 1: Minueto
  • No. 2: Oriental
  • No. 6: Jota

Canciones Amatorias

  • Mira que soy niña
  • Mañanica era
  • Serranas de Cuenca
  • Gracia mía
  • Descúbrase el pensamiento
  • Lloraba la niña
  • No lloréis, ojuelos

Allegro de concierto Opus 46


Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983):

Milonga (arranged by the performers)

Pampeana No. 2

Cinco Canciones Populares Argentinas

  1. Chacarera
  2. Triste
  3. Zamba
  4. Arrorró
  5. Gato

Sonata Opus 22

  1. Allegro marcato
  2. Presto misterioso
  3. Adagio molto appassionato
  4. Ruvido ed ostinato


To reserve your FREE Ticket!


Pregones Theater
575 Walton Avenue,
The Bronx NY 10451


His solo recitals include Debussy’s 150th Anniversary at Symphony Space in New York City, the concert series at St. John the Divine (NYC), Fundación Juan March (Madrid, Spain) and the Earle Voorhies Memorial Concert in Meng Hall at California State University, Fullerton. His chamber concerts include a recital with pianist Hyangmee Kim at Yon Sei University in Seoul, Korea, a duo piano recital of Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert at the Esterhazy Palace in Eisenstadt (Austria), a concert of American composers in Alcalá de Henares (Spain), a tour playing Stravinsky’s two piano version of Rite of Spring with Susan Svrcek in honor of the 100th Anniversary of the work’s premiere and Brahms Quintet Opus 34 with Cuarteto Assai broadcast live on RTVE Spanish Radio.

Mr. Ojeda has premiered works by composers Tom Lidell and David Meckler at Voces Novae New Music Festival and works by Carlos Carillo and Desmar Guevara at Pregones Theate in the Bronx, NY and at MACLA (Movimiento de Arte y Cultura Latino Americana) in San José, California. He has also premiered “barcode: Dance Music for Two Pianos” by Frederick Lesemann which was written for him and Susan Svrcek and “A Dream within a Dream” by Francisco Otero written for him and Lynette Carveth for a recent tour of Spanish composers.

He is featured in the recordings of composers Greg Lawrence and Paul Bailey. Nelson Ojeda Valdés holds degrees from California State University, Fullerton and Manhattan School of Music with additional studies at the Juilliard School and Mannes College of Music.

His primary teachers have been Earl Voorhies, Susan Svrcek and Constance Keene. Mr. Ojeda has been on the faculty at Mt. San Antonio College, Rio Hondo College and Harbor Conservatory for the Performing Arts and has taught masterclasses at CAMDA (California Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts), Escuela de Música Adora Calvo (Madrid, Spain) and Pasadena Conservatory.

His 2016-17 season includes tributes to composers Enrique Granados and Alberto Ginastera and performances of Rite of Spring and barcode with Susan Svrcek at REDCAT and the concert series of the Southeast Symphony in Los Angeles.